//
you're reading...
In School

The story behind the cartoonists

by Ryleek Acree ’18  |  Mr. Sousa’s AEI class is learning about cartooning. They have drawn some of the comics posted on The Great Griff. I asked the artists, as well as Mr. Sousa, a few questions about this interest of theirs.

Q:  What current cartoon are you working on?

Chris Banko, ’16: It’s about a bunch of superhero puns with funny problems.

Destiny Woodward, ’17: I just finished this cartoon called #Trendy and #Thighgap with Megan Fitzgerald (’15).

Q:  Why did you choose cartooning as your interest?

Chris: I like making people laugh and I like to draw.

Destiny: Me and my friend Megan thought it would be fun.

Q:  What is your all time favorite cartoon?

Chris: If it’s a basic cartoon I’d say the Snoopy and Charlie Brown ones; but if a major one, Iron Man

Destiny: Looney Tunes. Megan likes Avatar: The Last Airbender.

Q:  Do you make cartoons in your spare time?

Chris: I do most of the time. I draw things I try to get better at.

Destiny: Megan does, but I don’t. I think of the words. We’re a team!

I even interviewed Mr. Sousa.

Q:  Why did you choose to teach cartooning?

Guest Star Mr. Sousa: I like cartoons. I’m not a good drawer, so I got a class where students could teach me.

Q:  What are some of your favorite cartoons?

Mr. Sousa: Garfield or X-Men.

Q:  Do you draw cartoons in your free time?

Mr. Sousa: No, but I wish.

Q:  What cartoon character is your favorite, and why?

Mr. Sousa: Cyclops from X-Men. He used glasses for a power. It made me feel better about wearing glasses.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Colonel Richardson High School

410-754-5575
Follow The Great Griff on WordPress.com

What’s Old

We're popular!

  • 42,567 hits